Nighttime Cuddles

picjumbo.com_HNCK0360.jpg
photo by picjumbo.com

 

Abby doesn’t sleep very well yet; I wake up with her multiple times a night.  Sometimes she wants to eat, sometimes it is a dirty diaper, other times she just wants cuddles.  I hate to say it but sometimes about the fifth or sixth time I start to get a little grumpy.  Seriously, we’re getting up again? 

Since she has had a cold this week she has wanted to be held a lot of the night.  We don’t co-sleep in bed, so we’ve been sleeping together on the couch and my back and neck are all out of whack.

All that grumpiness dissolves when I walk into her bedroom and see her sweet little face barely peeping over the crib rail.  I pick her up and she rubs her little head on my shoulder and her hands go around my neck.  She is so little.  She smells so good.  She needs her mommy and I am happy to wake up to comfort her.  I wish I could solve all her problems with cuddles for the rest of her life, but I know that I won’t be able to… so I am going to enjoy every minute of it while I can.

 

Leave a Reply

