Book Review: Big Box of Boynton Set 1!: Barnyard Dance! Pajama Time! Oh My Oh My Oh Dinosaurs!

Drawing

I’ve always been a bookworm and I think this trait was passed along to Abby.  She has a bunch of books, but right now she has five favorites we must read over and over each day.  I love that she loves books at such a young age.  Since we spend so much time reading I decided it might be fun to periodically do a book review.

Our first book is actually a set of three books:  Big Box of Boynton Set 1!: Barnyard Dance! Pajama Time! Oh My Oh My Oh Dinosaurs!  by Sandra Boynton.

Boynton’s books were recommended to me by another mom I met recently at a mom’s group dinner.  Abby received an Amazon gift card for Christmas so this was one of the items we purchased with it.  Priced at $11.81 for a set of three, which I thought it was pretty affordable.  Our books arrived yesterday and we’ve read each of them several times.

This set is made up of sturdy board books, which is good because Abby likes to try to chew on them.   The books are very enjoyable to read aloud and have a song-like rhythmic flow, which really appeals to her.  The sweet and silly illustrations are fun to look at.  I don’t remember having ever read Boynton’s books before, but I did recognize her illustrative style.

My favorite is Barnyard Dance!  It is very fun to read.  In it, all of the barnyard animals are performing a square dance.  Reading it reminds me of my grandfather who used to call square dances and makes me smile thinking of how much he would have enjoyed reading to Abby.  The pictures are simple but fun.  Abby enjoys these illustrations the most and often tries to reach out and touch the pages.

Oh My Oh My Oh Dinosaurs! has cute illustrations all about opposites featuring adorable dinosaurs.  While the book does rhyme, it is less song-like than the others.  Abby doesn’t seem to care too much about this one yet, but I’m sure she will grow to like it.

I think Pajama Time! will be in our nightly bedtime story rotation.  It features several different animals all putting on their pajamas and dancing before bedtime.  The silly pictures will make you giggle.  This is similar to Barnyard Dance!, as it is very song-like when read aloud, but the rhythm is a little hard to get used to.  When the animals are dancing we had fun dancing along with them.

I would definitely recommend these books.  You can check them out here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0761139893/ref=s9_simh_gw_g14_i1_r?ie=UTF8&fpl=fresh&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=desktop-1&pf_rd_r=05WE6M46TVMP9NNSC031&pf_rd_t=36701&pf_rd_p=2079475242&pf_rd_i=desktop

 

Students Pack graphic by <a href=”http://www.freepik.com/”>Freepik</a&gt; from <a href=”http://www.flaticon.com/”>Flaticon</a&gt; is licensed under <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/&#8221; title=”Creative Commons BY 3.0″>CC BY 3.0</a>. Made with <a href=”http://logomakr.com&#8221; title=”Logo Maker”>Logo Maker</a>

 

 

Leave a Reply

