Goal Time

picjumbo.com_HNCK0691
photo by picjumbo.com

 

Starting my own blog has gotten me thinking about goals lately.  Short term goals, long term goals,  professional goals, personal goals, “probably will never happen but wouldn’t it be awesome” goals… you get the picture.
Starting a blog has been on my list for a while, so now I can check that one off!
I have never done well at visualizing a goal and actually working to achieve it, so I have resolved to work on that.  I decided that the easiest way to stay accountable and on track to fufulling my goal is to blog about it.

Goal #1 (Long term goal) – Be a healthy role model
At the beginning of the year I didn’t make a list of resolutions, per se, but I did vow that I was going to work towards being a healthy role model for my daughter.  I want her to see me eating healthy, exercising, and being a healthy weight.  I did great with going to an exercise class several days a week and making an effort to eat well.  I felt good; I was losing weight.  Unfortunately, my milk production went WAY down as a result of my exercise routine.  Work obligations got in the way and I stopped going to class.  These work obligations also caused a lot of stress and a lot of stress eating.  Case in point, my lunch yesterday was half a bag of Whoppers Robin’s Eggs.
Starting today I reaffirm my resolution to be a healthy role model for Abby.

Goal #2 (Short term goal) – Relax more
I recently posted 20 ways to relax.  My original purpose in putting together this list was to find ways to relax for myself.  I have been very stressed and tired lately.  I’ve noticed that I have been very grumpy, impatient, and pessimistic. I need to take some much needed “me time” to relax. When that will actually happen,  I’m not sure.  I did tell my husband that it would be nice to have a massage for my birthday,  hint hint 😉

Goal #3 (Long term goal) – Blog more
My original intention was to post something new every day.  So far I have not done too well with that.  I have written a little each day, usually in a notebook during my pumping sessions at work.  But often getting some sleep at night after the baby has gone to bed seems more rewarding than sitting down at the computer to type it up.  I am going to really try to push myself to fulfill this goal.

Goal #4 (Long term goal) – Do something creative every day
I have always been the creative type.  I used to draw all the time as a kid.  As an adult I started painting and would often get lost in a project and realize that half the night was gone. Last year we bought a new house and between moving and getting things ready for the baby- then having the baby- all my time and energy for art has been spent on other things.  I really really need to get back into taking time for myself to be able to explore my creative side again.

OK, now since I am posting this I guess it is official.  I have some work to do.  I will keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

