She’s on a Bottle Strike

hands.jpg
photo by Liane Metzler

The past four days my child has been on a bottle strike at daycare.   She will not drink almost any milk, only drinking about two ounces in three days.  This has been a slight issue for about a month, but not to this extreme.

Abby resisted the bottle initially when I began trying to introduce it to her close to the end of my maternity leave.  For a time she would only take it from me, the opposite of what most moms have told me happened to them.  We tried several types of bottles until she took to the MAM brand.  By the time I went back to work Abby would take the bottle from others.

Now that she is eating solids twice a day at daycare, a requirement of the state food program,  Abby seems to have completely turned up her nose at milk during the day.

My babysitter seems to think the current strike is due to the bottles I gave her to use.  I disagree, as Abby has been using these bottles for almost 7 months and for at least 6 months daily at daycare.  I tried introducing a faster flow nipple, thinking maybe she was just frustrated with not getting as much milk as she wanted fast enough, but that didn’t help.  I brought other bottles for the sitter to try, to no avail.  I have tried having Abby use a sippy cup instead of a bottle,  but she only wants to play with it and thinks it is fun letting all the milk dribble out of her mouth.

The last two evenings after arriving home from work and daycare I have had my husband give her a bottle, instead of me nursing her, which she has sucked down with out a problem.  I know she is getting some nutrition twice during the day, but not nearly as much as she should be.  I don’t know what else to do.

Has this ever happened to you?  How did you deal with it?

2 thoughts on “She’s on a Bottle Strike

  1. Hiya, how old is your daughter? Because my daughter did this when she was 1 and I had to go back to work. It is just a faze though because they’ve been introduced into a new way of life with mummy not there all the time, a new way of drinking milk and also solids! I think personally that she is just more focused on the solids at the minute so she’s lost interest in her milk. Keep sending her to the babysitter with milk though but make sure the babysitter doesn’t force it on her. You will probably find that one day she will be wanting the milk. Is she still drinking it at night time because mine went off it except for a bottle just before bed. Hope this reassures you! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

