I Need to Get Her to Sleep Alone… But I Don’t Know How

image
Photo by Benjamin Combs, downloaded from unsplash.com

It is a problem I have helped create.  I don’t know how to fix it. 
I posted a while back that Abby had slept in her own bedroom.  Prior to this she had been sleeping in our bedroom in the Pack and Play.  I thought we were finally getting her established sleeping in her crib in her own room.  Then she got sick and would only sleep if she was with me on the couch.  After that I thought she was teething and was very clingy.   No teeth ever popped through and she continued to be clingy and only want to sleep on top of me on the couch.  I recently had surgery and with the weight restrictions I was given I wasn’t supposed to lift Abby for two weeks,  but anyone who has a nine month old child will tell you that didn’t last very long.  I could not, however, lift her up and over the rails of her crib so I had been putting her back in the Pack and Play each night when she first falls asleep.
She will sleep on her own for usually about forty five minutes.  After that she generally wants to nurse again and then will only sleep on top of me.  I try depositing her back in the crib or Pack and Play, but as soon as she feels the movement of being put down or as soon as she has been put down she will wake up and cry.  We can literally do it over and over again all night long.  As soon as she is asleep I put her down and she wakes up.  Repeat.  Repeat. Repeat.  Usually I just give up in order to get any sleep.
Why don’t you just try the cry it out method?   I’m sure some of you will ask.  I tried it one night for hours and it was horrible.  Neither of us got any sleep and nothing was accomplished.
When recently talking to my friend, a mother of seven, I mentioned that I would like to stop the cosleeping.  She said that none of her kids wanted to do that until they were one.  One?   I thought.  I can’t wait that long!
I don’t know what to do.  I don’t mind waking up to nurse or change her, but  I want to sleep in my own bed.  I want to sleep next to my husband.  I want Abby to sleep by herself.  I wish I knew how to do it.

Leave a Reply

