Book Review: Kiss Me, Hug Me, I Will Always Love You, and I Love You This Much

image

image
Books by Igloo Books

Recently the hospital I work at hosted its quarterly book fair by Books Are Fun.  I picked up a set of four children’s books: Kiss Me, Hug Me, I Will Always Love You, and I Love You This Much.  All four books in the set are board books with a hard cover, published by Igloo Books.  They have very attractive and colorful illustrations that adults and children will both love. I paid $11.99 for the set of four.

Kiss Me is my favorite of the books in the set.  It is written by Melanie Joyce and illustrated by Anna Jones.  The narration of the story is done from the point of view of a little bear telling its mother when it wants to be kissed.   “Kiss me when I cry because my friends have all gone home.  Kiss me and tell me that I will never be alone.”

Hug Me is written by Melanie Joyce and illustrated by Daniella Dogliani.  It is similar to Kiss Me.  A little bunny is telling its mother when it wants to be hugged.  Little ones will identify with the characters.  “Hug me when I’ve played all day and I’m too tired to hop.”

I Will Always Love You is written by Marilee Joy Mayfield and illustrated by Caroline Pedler.  The picture of the momma and baby elephant on the cover is what drew me to the set of books initially.  I have a thing for elephants and these are very sweet.  The book is narrated from the point of view of the different little animals as they talk about why they love their family.  “My mom is kind and gentle.  She’s very sweet to me.  Even when I mess up, she pretends not to see.”

I Love You This Much is the longest book and would be the most difficult for young readers.  A delightful little panda tells the reader how much he loves them and what he would do to show it.    “I’d get my friends to dress up in a silly circus style.  Then I’d wobble on a tightrope,  just to try to make you smile.”  There are several beautiful and detailed pictures to go with the story.

I Love You This Much and I Will Always Love You are both too wordy to keep Abby’s attention right now.  We’ve attempted to read them a couple times but she gets bored about three pages in.  I think she will really like them in the future though. Hug Me and Kiss Me are just short enough for her current attention span so we have read and enjoyed them multiple times.

Check them out here:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/1784405582/

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1784405590/

http:// https://igloobooks.com/catalogsearch/result/?q=I+love+you+this+much

I was unable to find a link for I Will Always Love You on either Amazon or Igloo Books’ websites.   I will keep looking and add it if I find it.

Leave a Reply

