No Rest for the Weary

I have a cold and it stinks!  Abby was sick for over a week and I was exposed to my snotty, hacking sister-in-law and niece at Thanksgiving, so I knew that it was only a matter of time before it was my turn to get sick.

I stayed home from work with Abby on Friday and she only took two half hour naps, not nearly long enough for me.  I eventually put her in the Pack and Play with some toys and turned on Sesame Street while I lay next to her and slept for about fourty five minutes.  When she went to bed at 8:00 p.m. I went to bed too.

Yesterday she took two thirty minute naps but I was able to get her to snuggle with me on the couch and fall back asleep for about fourty minutes until my husband’s on-call phone rang.  

It is so hard to chase after an incredibly energetic one-year-old when your head is full of congestion and you have zero energy.  I feel like a zombie.  It wouldn’t be so bad if I were able to take some cold medicine, but since I am still nursing I am limited on what I can take.  Right now I am pretty much functioning on coffee and Tylenol.  I am incredibly grateful to my husband for picking up lunch and supper the last couple days

There are so many things I feel like I should be doing right now: decorating for Christmas, shopping for groceries and Christmas gifts, washing the mountain range of laundry that has formed in my hallway, unloading the dishwasher, and more, but I am going to turn on some Elmo’s World and veg on the couch for a while.

Leave a Reply

