Getting into the Christmas Spirit

Someone did not enjoy her visit with Santa and Mrs. Claus. Photo by Kiel Emerson Photography.

It is December and there’s only a couple weeks left until Christmas.  The unseasonably warm weather we have been enjoying had finally turned cold and the first snow as fallen.  
I have decorated the house minimally, compared to normal, mostly because I haven’t had the time or energy to do it.  Everyone in our home has taken turns fighting colds since Thanksgiving. My husband and I finally decorated our tree two nights ago. We put the tree up in the basement this year, since Abby is mobile, curious, and ornery.  I figured that if it was in our living room like normal she would not leave it alone. 

I am not sure why but it has been hard for me to get into the Christmas spirit this year. Usually I excitedly decorate the tree on the day after Thanksgiving.  I have fun driving my husband nuts with singing carols all season.  We have a yearly tradition of making hot cocoa and driving around town to look at all the Christmas lights but this year we haven’t done that because it is impossible for Abby to see the lights from her rear-facing car seat in the back of the car. Normally I try to make a lot of gifts for my family but have just not had motivation or been ambitious enough to do it.  My shopping is usually done and gifts are wrapped under the tree by now, but nary a gift has been wrapped and only some items have been crossed off of my shopping list.  Trying to figure out the logistics of our holiday travel and how to attend three different Christmas celebrations has been stressful and I hate it.  I feel like no matter how I try to arrange things and make time spent together even between families, some people are willing to be flexible while others do not budge or consider trying to do anything different than the way it’s been done for the last twenty years; someone always ends up unhappy and disappointed.

Man, I really sound Ike the Grinch, don’t I?

This week I am making a greater effort to spread Christmas cheer.  Abby and I have watched Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer and Frosty the Snowman.  We went to visit Santa, but Abby was terrified and wanted nothing to do with him, while last year she sat calmly on his lap and tried to pull a fist full of his beard.  I played Christmas music for Abby this morning instead of listening to our regular Sesame Street radio station. Tonight I am going to watch my favorite Christmas movie, White Christmas, and wrap presents.  I am going to bake and freeze cookies- we have to have cookies to leave out for Santa, after all, don’t we?  

Leave a Reply

