Facing a Profesional Fear

​

I have been working at my current place of employment for over fifteen years.  I have had a variety of positions but I have been in my current position for a little over three years now.  

When I first started my current position I was basically just thrust into my job duties and not really given any cohesive training, as my coworkers were in the middle of implementing a large project.  I was handed a bunch of training guides and expected to figure everything out.  This was a little difficult for me, because it was all very new and different and my job is very multifaceted.  I had to train myself to do so much.  

Part of my job is to train new associates.  I have done this job duty for a long time and am comfortable with it, but one thing I had not done was to train nurses.  I have trained office managers, office staff, CNAs, but never a nurse.  I have always felt scared to try, overwhelmed by the amount of information I would need to pass on, and unsure of my knowledge and ability to do it correctly.  I have somewhat avoided doing it, always waiting for someone else to volunteer to do it first.  I don’t know why, but it has always freaked me out.  Perhaps part of my hesitation was that I felt like if I tried to train a nurse the curtain would be pulled back and people would see that the great Wizard of Oz was really just a weird little guy talking into a microphone.  People would see that I didn’t know as much as they think I do, as much as I claim to.

Fast forward to the present.  One of my coworkers called in sick and had sent a text message asking if someone would either reschedule a training session she had set up for a nurse or train the nurse.  My other two coworkers were leaving early so I decided to take the leap and face my fear.  I dove in and did it.  Fake it ’til you make it, I told myself.  I met with the nurse, I acted confident and like I knew what I was doing, even though I was shaking in my boots, quite literally.

And you know what?  It really wasn’t so bad!  I surprised myself with how much I really did know, how at ease I felt once I got in a groove, how well I did.  (Insert mental image of me jumping around ecstatically here.)  I did it.  I cannot explain how good I felt.       

So I guess the moral of the story is that when I faced my fear head on I rose up to the challenge and found out a lot about myself.  I realize that I need to apply this approach to other areas of my life.  Maybe it will be successful, maybe not, but I need to at least try.

Have you ever been in a situation where you’ve faced one of your professional fears?  How did it turn out?  I would love to hear from you.  

Leave a Reply

