Seeing Spots

Photo by Sofia Levchenko. From http://www.unsplash.com.

Abby was sick the whole weekend.  She acted like a little bear, except of course,  Sunday morning when we went to eat brunch at IHOP with my parents.  Then she was giggly and silly, kicking her shoes off under the table and wanting to jump on the booth seats. 
I stayed home with her yesterday because she still had a fever and was cranky. I could tell she was more tired than normal because she took three naps, rather than one. She needed snuggles all day and was never far from my lap.  

Multiple times yesterday nothing I did was right and she threw several nonsensical temper tantrums. Oh, your snacks in a bowl is wrong, but it’s right on a sippy cup?  You have a poop blowout running up your back but you don’t want to change? Every single Netflix show was the wrong one. The left sock was acceptable but the right sock was ripped off instantly each time it was put on. No, you can’t pull every single baby wipe out of the package. Cheese in a slice is the only way to eat it, pieces are not cool, Mom. A fit was thrown for a banana and then none was eaten. Milk was gargled and then spit out.

Today she woke up crabby and was glued to me. Any time I tried to go to the bathroom, get a drink, or just walk into the other room she would screech until I returned or until I took her with me. I decided to stay home with her again even though her fever was gone. 

About 7:30 a.m. I took off her pajamas and put on her clothes as we watched some Daniel Tiger. At 9:15 a.m. she lay down for a nap. When she woke I took off her pants to change her diaper and noticed a rash. She has spots covering almost her whole body. 

We took a trip to the local urgent care clinic where Abby started to wail as soon as she stepped on the scale. Getting shots has given her a real dislike for the doctor’s office.  

It turns out that she has Roseola, which explains the irritability, diarrhea, and fever, and rash.  Luckily, after the fever breaks and rash appears she is no longer contagious. The doctor said that if she is feeling better and acting OK tomorrow morning she can go back to daycare.  I’ve enjoyed the extra long weekend and snuggle naps but I am ready to go back to work. (About 3:00 p.m. tomorrow remind me that I said that, OK?)

Leave a Reply

