A Baby “Sprinkle”

Photo by Rodion Kustaev.  From www.unsplash.com

Having a baby “sprinkle,” or second baby shower- is it tacky or a fun idea?

A few years ago I was researching ideas for my sister’s baby shower on Pinterest when I first saw pins about baby sprinkles. They are called a “sprinkle” to differentiate them from a “shower.” They are supposed to be given for parents who have previously had a baby shower for a child of another gender or to celebrate a second (or more) pregnancy. Often they are limited to a smaller number of attendees, usually just close family and friends.

Online it seems that opinions are mixes on the appropriateness of having a second baby shower. Many people call it “greedy,” “rude,” and “tacky.” Others thought it was a “fun” or “sweet” idea to show how much you care. I don’t know anyone who has had one, where I live I never seen it done. But, opinions are like belly buttons, everyone has one; some people like to show them off and others keep theirs hidden.

Three years ago I hosted a baby shower for my sister-in-law, Casey, when she was pregnant with her fourth child, Missy. While technically it was her second baby shower, she’d had her last child ten years before and had not planned on having more, so she was basically starting all over again and needed everything.

While pregnant with Abby, I had two showers, one for family and friends given by my sister and one at work put together and attended by my and my husband’s coworkers. They were both very nice and I am very grateful for everyone’s generosity and everything we received, which helped out so much when Abby arrived and as she grew. Being that it was only two years ago, I have much of what I will need for baby boy, except essentials like diapers and clothes.

A couple of weeks ago Casey asked me if I would mind if she threw me a sprinkle next month, since I had given her a shower. I told her that would be lovely, but secretly wondered how many people would come or feel like I thought I was acting entitled and asking for more presents? She seemed so excited about it that I didn’t want to tell her no. She asked me to register online and to give her a list of attendees and their addresses.

I gave her a list with my friends, sister, mom, and aunts. I registered online at Target and Wal-Mart, adding diapers in two sizes, wipes, Diaper Genie refills, and onesies and sleepers in size 0-3 and 3-6 months. I didn’t feel right adding other more “frivolous” feeling items.

I decided not to care what other people think. I know it will be fun. Even if no one but my mom, sister, mother-in-law, and Casey come, we will celebrate my new little man and have a good time.

Have you ever been to a baby shower for someone who is having a second child? What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

